Super Strain Isolation Experiment Pro... Return To Archives | Search

Please Visit Our New Forums at Mycotopia
Please visit our Sponsors

Mycotopia Web Archive » Archive » Spores, Prints & Syringes » Super Strain Isolation Experiment Proposal « Previous Next »

ClosedClosed: New threads not accepted on this page
Topic Author Last Poster Posts Pages Last Post

Top of pageBottom of pageLink to this message

Jesse James (Spacecowboy)
Posted on Wednesday, August 27, 2003 - 05:00 am:Edit Post Quote Text Delete Post Print Post Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

This is how I would go about it, but I am new to mycology so I could be way off. Clone the rhizomorphic mycelium, collect spores, and then repeat the process. Eventually a super strain will evolve for your controlled conditions, from which you can then apply the Stamets’ “P-value” scale.

The following is the outline of my proposed experiment, with some background info. I have chosen to use the PF Tek as the main model as it is a proven cultivation method, and very versatile. The experiment could also be done with agar plates for strain isolation, and then grain spawn for bulk substrate inoculation. Please leave feedback and suggestions:

First start with a spore print, or Parent strain termed G-0, and do a multi-spore injection with a PF cake. After germination, isolate each of the rhizomorphic growing myceliums from the cake. Each of these mycelium isolations are the first generation offspring of the parent strain, or G-1 since they are the first sexually produced offspring of the parent strain which has been given the term G-0. Be sure to label each of these isolations for selection later on (i.e. G-1a. G-1b, G-1c…).