Horse vs Cow Dung ? Return To Archives | Search

Please Visit Our New Forums at Mycotopia
Please visit our Sponsors

Mycotopia Web Archive Archive Substrate: Shroom Food Horse vs Cow Dung ? Previous Next

ClosedClosed: New threads not accepted on this page
Topic Author Last Poster Posts Pages Last Post

Top of pageBottom of pageLink to this message

Defunkt (Defunkt)
Username: Defunkt

Post Number: 8
Posted on Monday, October 20, 2003 - 04:38 pm:Edit Post Quote Text Delete Post Print Post Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Preferences anyone?

How about elephant dung at the local zoo? You think they'd let me haul some off?

Corvus Albus (Valkyrie)
Username: Valkyrie

Post Number: 9
Posted on Monday, October 20, 2003 - 06:03 pm:Edit Post Quote Text Delete Post Print Post Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I have little experience with cow dung, but I have worked with horse dung extensively over the course of a year and find it to be excellent. I really havent gotten better yields off of any other substrates.

Upload

I also found that properly sun-dried and decomposed horse poo could be used with a decent degree of sucess unpasteurized, so long as the moisture levels werent too high. Then again, the stuff I had was baking out in the sun at 100 degrees for several weeks.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/2539857.stm

Heres a zoo selling the stuff, but its over there in the UK ;) Get to know a zoo-keeper at your local zoo, they are usually friendly people and might let you have some. Maybe look into volunteering at yer zoo?

--valkyrie and hrafn

Hippie3 (Admin)
Board Administrator
Username: Admin

Post Number: 7221
Posted on Monday, October 20, 2003 - 06:13 pm:Edit Post Quote Text Delete Post Print Post Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

a shame the zoodoo folks went out of business.
i hear many saying they like horse best,
but cow is more readily available and the overall difference is small, both work well.
http://archives.mycotopia.net/discus/messages/1/29852.gif