Please visit our Sponsors

Mycotopia Web Archive Archive Contams. Help ! Bugs! Previous Next

ClosedClosed: New threads not accepted on this page
Topic Author Last Poster Posts Pages Last Post

Top of pageBottom of pageLink to this message

Pipe Man (Story_teller)
Username: Story_teller

Post Number: 1
Posted on Tuesday, November 04, 2003 - 11:08 am:Edit Post Quote Text Delete Post Print Post Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

several of my dying brf cakes are homes for bugs. smaller than gnats and no wings. these cakes have no shrooms when bugs are present. the other cakes exhibit no signs of bugs, at least not yet. i've been growing for a bit now, 3 yrs., and have not seen this before.

ladies and gentlemen of the jury...what do ya think? this has me worried to say the least.

story

Pipe Man (Story_teller)

Post Number: 2
Posted on Tuesday, November 04, 2003 - 11:33 am:Edit Post Quote Text Delete Post Print Post Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Okay.... i re-checked. bugs on all cakes, exspecailly the ones with healthy shrooms. luckily i'm low in my cycle. i lost one cake that had 10 healthy pins. it was the worse infested. they don't seem to be inside the cakes, just the outside and foil.

i'm cleaning the aquirum now.

i forgot some important details. 10 gal. perlite on bottom, cakes on aluminum foil (so they don't grow into the perlite)

something that i haven't done before: instead of changing the perlite i've been turkey basting the excess water out. yesterday or maybe the day before i first noticed the bugs. i've just thrown them all away. better safe than sorry when you don't know what your dealing with. i use perioxide in my spray.

well, folks there it is. what do ya think?

story

rodger rabbit (Skyypilot)
Username: Skyypilot

Post Number: 1086
Posted on Tuesday, November 04, 2003 - 01:52 pm:Edit Post Quote Text Delete Post Print Post Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Those yellow sticky mats work well. Bugs are attracted to them.