• Please log in to reply
72 replies to this topic

#1 The1unknown

The1unknown

Mycophiliac

• Free Member
  • 69 posts

Posted 21 February 2017 - 07:59 AM

Complete noob on my first grow. I have 10 pf jars fully colonized and 10 more about 70% colonized. I plan on using my cakes as spawn to bulk. My question is do I use the cakes when they appear fully colonized or do I wait the extra week and allow them to consolidate before using them. Thanks in advanced for any answers.

#2 MonoJoe

MonoJoe

Mycophiliac

• Free Member
  • 13 posts

Posted 21 February 2017 - 08:26 PM

While cakes CAN be used as spawn it is typically frowned upon since most folks use spores with brf which can contain contaminants. The preferred practice for bulk would be agar work in order to ensure your spawn (grains) is clean.

From my experience cakes do best fruited as cakes. For spawning bulk typically grains are used which requires a pressure cooker.

#3 BigTexas

BigTexas

Mycophiliac

• Free Member
  • 52 posts

Posted 21 February 2017 - 11:11 PM

Im about to try TV's guide to inoculation. Making my BRF jars into slurry and inoculating my tubs without grain spawn. 

• MLBjammer and wharfrat like this

#4 wharfrat

wharfrat

someone familiar

• App Administrator
  • 5,115 posts

Donator

Awards Bar:

Posted 21 February 2017 - 11:22 PM

While cakes CAN be used as spawn it is typically frowned upon since most folks use spores with brf which can contain contaminants. The preferred practice for bulk would be agar work in order to ensure your spawn (grains) is clean.

From my experience cakes do best fruited as cakes. For spawning bulk typically grains are used which requires a pressure cooker.

cakes can be used with excellent success as a substrate inoculate, no matter whether spores or a culture was used..

• MLBjammer, PsyBearknot, Microbe and 1 other like this

#5 wharfrat

wharfrat

someone familiar

• App Administrator
  • 5,115 posts

Donator

Awards Bar: