25 replies to this topic

#1 PirateFarmer

PirateFarmer

Mycotopiate

• Free Member
  • 609 posts

Posted 17 March 2017 - 02:31 PM

Lets talk about this.

Anyone else that saves seeds knows what I'm talking about - f1 hybrids don't produce true-to-type seeds, (whether tomato, corn or mj), leaving us to have to return to the seed-seller if we want to grow consistant crops. Of course, one could develop the strain further out, themselves, but it takes several generations (AT LEAST to the f3 level) to do so.

Has anyone done so? I've been growing my Northern Lights out for 3 years/generations, and still get a few rogues, but NL has been around for many years, and has been used for the creation of many, many other strains - definitely a 'heirloom'-type seed. What about Sativas strains? Anyone know of any that fit this criteria? Or Indica. Of course, the 'holy grail', so to speak, would be to find one or two of each (S or I) of the newer, high-THC potency ones.

It's not just a matter of going to the usual seed companies (when Mandala is back at it, I intend to ask them about their 'landrace' types they have)...their profit increases (again, no matter what type of garden/mj plant) by having you constantly return to them for seeds...which is an inducement for them to develop only the f1 hybrids. If you know of a company (or more than one) that grows stabilized seeds, let us know?

I'd love to have this turn into a list of companies and seed strains useful for us that seed save.

Of course, we could just clone them, but that's not my focus, here - it has its own limitations...such as, what if you move, or, for some other reason, need to suspend production (or a catastrophic crop failure)? Or want to share the strain w/ a friend that's across the country from you? Or simply only grow outdoors? Personally, one of THE main reasons I save seed, is I just don't want to be dependant upon outside sources. Better food security, and better secrecy for the mj crop.