• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Jfergs

Jfergs

Mycophiliac

• Myco Newb
  • 2 posts

Posted 13 January 2018 - 03:47 PM

K so I'm a real newb so please bare with me. Growing PE for the first time. I'm going to inoculate my cakes (verm/BRF) later on then put them in the incubator at 80 Fahrenheit.I've read they're very picky 80 while be good right? I want to use a peat/verm/calcium carbonate casing. Planning on 60/30/10 parts respectively and going to pasteurize any tips? Should I break the cakes up before putting them in the mix and should I dunk them quickly and roll in verm or do a 24 hour dunk? When I do add the cakes to the mix should I immediately start introducing light or should I keep it dark and for how long? Humidifying any general tips for that? Any non layman terms please include your easiest description. Thank everyone in advance.
Jferg

#2 Sidestreet

Sidestreet

May your tracks be lost...

• App Administrator
  • 7,769 posts

Donator

Awards Bar:

Posted 13 January 2018 - 04:17 PM

Welcome!

80 degrees is fine.

Here's a good oven pasteurization tek:  https://mycotopia.ne...eurization-123/

If you want to make a casing you can either leave the cakes whole or crumble them.  If you're casing there's no need to roll in vermiculite.  You can still dunk first, though.

With a casing, you'll crumble the cakes into a layer on the bottom of the pan, cover the crumbled cakes with your casing material, and then incubate until the mycelium starts growing through the casing material.

If you're doing a casing in a pan, you can put the pan in a tub with a layer of damp perlite on the bottom and mist the walls when you fan.

Does that all make sense?  I'm kinda tired today.  :)

Edited by Sidestreet, 13 January 2018 - 04:20 PM.

• bugs likes this

#3 CatsAndBats

CatsAndBats

[^._.^]ノ彡 & /|\( ;,;)/|\

• OG VIP
  • 9,734 posts

Awards Bar:

Posted 14 January 2018 - 12:16 PM