• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Rangley

Rangley

Mycotopiate

• Free Member
  • 239 posts

Posted 12 March 2018 - 09:57 PM

I have spent some time in the Fungi section of this community. I heavily research, and execute grows in an experimental format. I realize every thriving organism has an ideal set of parameters. However, I want to introduce myself here. From the south I’m a veteran who found this community as an escape from deadly pharmaceuticals. I’m glad to finally find and learn this side of ‘Topia! I have a lifetime of curiosity, but just a few years working with fungi, and plants. Ultimately the growth of my family, and finally finding an accommodating roost means branching out. No pun intended.

With spring upon us I have started several projects and have several more on the white board. For the birth of my daughter we found a “Golden Nugget” succulent. The start of our family, the start of cultivating and aiding growth. Days later we decided to take on as many plants as we can keep around. Watching and caring for all nature’s children has become a calling.

Helping a friend out days later we stumbled across quite the blessing. A sign pulling me towards botany. One of his white oaks is near death after several lightning strikes. Yet an extended cold spell, and lots of rain gave her lineage hope. We managed to uproot and transplant 12 white oak acorns. After a short week in my care only four still have their acorns. All but two already have the first inch of their shoot.

From what I read online now is not the time to collect acorns, nor try and grow them. However the plant will tell you more than an online article “most of the time”

Attached Thumbnails

• A28BDBCF-0EA2-417A-B447-D6AA291FD07B.jpeg
  • EAF0D28E-E1F2-4EA4-8A20-EEE9449C8CD1.jpeg
  • 34B087DC-186E-40AD-BD19-9137C170D070.jpeg
  • 8FF62470-2799-4581-B3C7-E4BF66315E36.jpeg
  • 1ED0B116-7841-4207-AEF6-880BF99737DA.jpeg
  • 320E4693-6378-405D-964E-3C71643F44C4.jpeg