• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Schteuben

Schteuben

Mycophiliac

• Free Member
  • 33 posts

Posted 25 April 2018 - 09:55 PM

I have been trying to distance myself from technology in recent years. Growing up with my pops being a computer engineer, I had a computer virtually from birth; and the internet on top of that. 

He passed away recently and told me he had regrets about his career choice. His company had ended up laying him off due to health issues and after 20+ years of it, he just wanted to buy a boat and sail the world. 

Taking some advice from him, I'm trying to reconnect with nature, spirituality and just generally make myself feel better. 

I have never been much of a reader and could probably count the amount of books I have read on all of my fingers. 

Not to get too far off topic - I'm looking for your guys suggestions.

I recently picked up one book..

I'm from the Appalachian mountains, West Virginia to be exact; I picked up a mushroom field guide and have been reading up on the mushrooms and local plants around the area. 

#2 Spooner

Spooner

Horney Toad

• Black VIP
  • 2,752 posts

Donator

Awards Bar:

Posted 26 April 2018 - 02:19 AM

For nonmushroom books you might like Twenty-one Balloons

It is a fantastic story of a retired school teacher who sets off on a trip around the world, narrowly escaping with his life when Krakatoa Volcano erupts under his feet.

It is an easy to read, light hearted, adventure tale, with enough wit to amuse even an old codger like me.

It  is even available online in PDF format.for free, but I prefer the print version for easy portability.

Enjoy!

Edited by Spooner, 26 April 2018 - 02:24 AM.

• dial8 and Juthro like this

#3 Sidestreet

Sidestreet

May your tracks be lost...

• App Administrator
  • 8,476 posts

Donator

Awards Bar:

Posted 26 April 2018 - 05:29 AM