8 replies to this topic

#1 Guy1298

Guy1298

Mycophage

• VIP
  • 793 posts

Awards Bar:

Posted 17 October 2018 - 12:03 AM

I am wondering what's brought others to psychedelics and what they learned, spiritually or mystically, or whatever else. I think I'm going to write about myself for the rest of this post with no particular agenda.

I like reflecting. Honestly speaking, I was the product of a dysfunctional family. I was intelligent enough to imagine ways of escape. So, I looked at Buddhism with the help of some strange hints in my younger life. And I was drawn into Val Kilmer's portrayal of Jim Morrison, in the desert drinking cactus tea. I read Siddhartha and Steppenwolf. Isolated and generally succumbed to shame, social awkwardness, and embarrassment. Learned quickly that the intensity with which I am drawn to open up to others is undesired, and impossible. 

I studied Mathematics in undergrad. Then, isolated for a couple years, while studying Math, and came into mushrooms, looking for Jhana. Then, after having used mushrooms a few times, I looked for insight into not-self. Then, after mushrooms scared the shit out of me, multiple times, I meditated to put myself back together. I came upon the idea that I would ordain as a Buddhist monk then. But, I remember the day I spoke to a monk and he told me that I should face my fear. The fear I spoke of was the terror I had felt on high doses, but I had cast it as the fear of the dark. That stuck with me. 

I travelled to Peru once before and drank Ayahuasca. After that, I lost my passport and gave away a lot of things in the streets, being stricken with pure love and a sense of God. Ayahuasca had made me love myself and gave me a sense of safety in eternity. I felt like the blue green of the wet jungle was held up by God, far apart, in a sea of something infinite, being infinite. I expected to die, I think. That was what my high dose mushroom trips were like, being traumatically separated from life.