• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 10PinHead10

10PinHead10

Mycophiliac

• Free Member
  • 21 posts

Posted 06 December 2018 - 08:05 PM

So I'm still relatively new at this, but things gave been going better than i couldve even dreamed of. One thing that im a little unsure about is if i should stick to the casing procedure that I've done on my first four "sample/experimental" cakes. I laid down just about an 1/8' layer of damp verm, 1/4" layer of casing (which is 50/50. Verm and a grow medium used for growing plants. Its called wormix, and is made up of coco coir, worm castings, peat and perlite,vwith a pinch of lime added in, along with some crushed oyster shells), then 3/4' thick of spawn, 1/2" layer of casing, 3/4' of spawn, then just about a 1/4" casing layer ontop wirlth a very thin coat of verm to top it off. It's worked so far, but i wanted to hear some experienced people's thoughts on that, and if mixing the casing with the spawn is better than doing layers. Any tips, pointers, suggestions, feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thanks so much!

#2 Deleena24

Deleena24

Pothead

• Free Member
  • 415 posts

Posted 06 December 2018 - 08:51 PM

If you're growing cubes, you can forgo a casing layer completely if your humidity is around 90% or higher.

I don't use a casing layer for cubes at all anymore, and I get great pinsets even with MS

#3 PJammer24

PJammer24

Archetype Novice

• OG VIP
  • 721 posts

Awards Bar:

Posted 07 December 2018 - 10:41 AM