• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Deleena24

Deleena24

Pothead

• VIP
  • 852 posts

Posted 10 December 2018 - 02:36 PM

As you can see, I transferred pieces of the interior of an approximately 85g PF Classic.

Work was done inside a freshly cleaned SAB, and all tissue was dipped for about 30 seconds in 3% Peroxide.

The grain jars both look clean, and have jumped off nicely. I am confident they will turn out well.

On 1 of the plates, there is what looks like almost bubbles, but I haven't noticed much growth of them. A transfer or 2 is going to be needed for that plate. The other looks completely clean.

Any recommendations on what to do with the plates? I'm new to agar completely. Do I have to let the plate completely expand before a transfer? Can I try transferring straight to grain from the clean plate? If so, how big of a piece has to be used?

Attached Thumbnails

• 20181210_132339.jpg
  • 20181210_132354.jpg
  • 20181210_132419.jpg
  • 20181210_132441.jpg

• Myc and Sikfreud like this

#2 Myc

Myc

El Jardinero

• App Administrator
  • 6,315 posts

Awards Bar:

Posted 10 December 2018 - 03:09 PM

You'll want to use agar where the surface is completely colonized. 

You can transfer from colonized sections without the whole plate needing to be colonized. 

Normally - I'll put two to three square centimeters of colonized agar into a jar of sterile grain. 

If you cut the transfer into smaller pieces, you'll have more inoculation points from which the mycelium can run. 

You're correct. From your photo line-up........the plate on the left is clean.

The plate on the right has a contaminant at the edge. This is no problem. Simply transfer clean mycelium to a fresh plate. 

If this is really your first time with agar........I'm impressed. 

You've completed a pretty "complex" task as far as mycology goes. 

Nice job !!! 

Edited by Myc, 10 December 2018 - 03:10 PM.

• Sikfreud and HooKworm like this

#3 Deleena24

Deleena24

Pothead

• VIP