• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Pschippie

Pschippie

Mycophiliac

• Free Member
  • 47 posts

Posted 08 January 2019 - 08:03 PM

So I have a question I’m a newb and have 12 jars in fc for 2 days now I dunked for 14hrs they are the 1/4jars and idk y but the cakes look dry is it even possible if I just dunked them and humidity is always above 95% and temp is at 73to 75f am I just freaking out? Also I should add that one cake has few knots of little pins probably 1/8in

#2 Pschippie

Pschippie

Mycophiliac

• Free Member
  • 47 posts

Posted 08 January 2019 - 08:04 PM

I put a space heater in the room that my fc in could that be drying them out?

#3 Deleena24

Deleena24

Pothead

• VIP
  • 1,363 posts

Awards Bar:

Posted 08 January 2019 - 09:45 PM

If the heater is pointed at the cakes, yes, possible. Dont have the dry heat pointing in the direction of the chamber and keep it at a decent distance.

#4 Pschippie

Pschippie

Mycophiliac

• Free Member
  • 47 posts

Posted 09 January 2019 - 07:42 AM

Even if the humidity is at 99%? they still could be dry?

#5 MysticalMyco

MysticalMyco

Mycotopiate

• Free Member
  • 349 posts

Posted 09 January 2019 - 10:43 AM

Do you have a humidity moniter? You might they're cheap enough, however if not don't assume misting/moisture on the side of the FC ='s 99% humidity.

The visible knots are what I always look for. You can always press the outter rim of the cake witglh your finger, if it appears crusty you may have issues. If it sinks in with no crust you are should be good to go. At the point of full colonization you don't have to worry as much about contams from touch.

I always use the touch test just make sure you wash your hands with antibacterial soap and/or light alcohol. You can always get a pH / Moisture moniter off Amazon. They have two little prods and an analog gauge. I got mine for $4 as an add-on to my order. I use it all the time.

Edited by MysticalMyco, 09 January 2019 - 10:47 AM.