• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 Turtlegirl

Turtlegirl

Mycophage

• Free Member
  • 148 posts

Posted 10 February 2019 - 09:23 AM

Just wanted to share this picture and ask if this looked healthy.  This is my first time growing and this particular jar seems to be growing faster than the others.  Thanks for the input.

Attached Thumbnails

• IMG_15851.JPG
  • IMG_15861.JPG

• Deleena24, GalenOl and Advocate4TheMT like this

#2 peacefrog

peacefrog

Peaceful Frog

• 2,268 posts

Awards Bar:

Posted 10 February 2019 - 10:24 AM

Pics are a little blurry but I think you are good. Could be slightly bacterial, but maybe not.

If you want an easy way to check the mycelial growth, just mark the outside of the jar with a sharpie at the edge of the growth (it will wash off easily). And check the progress daily. If it is growing below the line, it is still colonizing. If it does not, then you either have a contaminated jar, or the moisture isn’t just right and that section has dried out too much.
1D8D7B46-33DB-497D-990F-9EAAC1010D7C.jpeg
  • coorsmikey, Baphom3t and Turtlegirl like this

#3 Turtlegirl

Turtlegirl

Mycophage

• Free Member
  • 148 posts

Posted 10 February 2019 - 11:30 AM

I was more concerned about cobweb mold than anything.  I will mark my jars and see what happens.

#4 peacefrog

peacefrog

Peaceful Frog

• 2,268 posts

Awards Bar:

Posted 10 February 2019 - 12:29 PM

I do not see cobweb mold at all. But if there is cobweb mold in there, it outgrow the cube mycelium very quickly.
  • PJammer24 and Turtlegirl like this

#5 DreamingRaven

DreamingRaven

Seeker

• VIP
  • 228 posts

Posted 10 February 2019 - 12:33 PM

From what I see in the  pics it looks fine , and I'll second peacefrog's post and say if there is cobweb it will quickly outgrow the cube myc.  Cobweb grows EXTREMELY fast, I've seen it cover the outside of a bail of hay in a day...

#6 SkeleDan

SkeleDan

Mycophiliac

• Gold VIP
  • 72 posts