• Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#1 darkzen15

darkzen15

Mycophiliac

• Free Member
  • 37 posts

Posted 10 February 2019 - 03:32 PM

Hey guys, just started my first set of no pour agar plates yesterday. 4 plates started the entire pouring and pressure cooking phase went very well with little condensation.

Inoculated all 4 plates through a SHIP in a clean SAB. Needle flame sterilized between each plate.

Only issue is that i seem to have squirted a little too much spore solution. Some plates look quite wet.

We will see the outcome soon i guess. How long do agar plates normally take to grow out from a multispore solution?

As an update, no growth at all in my pf tek jars after 12 days.
  • peacefrog and Billcoz like this

#2 RutgerHauer

RutgerHauer

Mycotopiate

• Free Member
  • 240 posts

Posted 10 February 2019 - 03:47 PM

Hi! Good to hear you are getting into agar - I am not experienced in this myself, but will follow anyway for future agar works.

So, you are using a multispore solution for inoculating. Could take a while to see significant growth, depending on the strain. I have some different strains germinating and the Colombian strain seems to be a bit slow - showing just a little growth after 11 days. So, if the same goes for your PF jars, it might be growing, but just not showing yet!

Edited by RutgerHauer, 10 February 2019 - 03:50 PM.

#3 Deleena24

Deleena24

Pothead

• Free Member
  • 1,378 posts

Awards Bar:

Posted 10 February 2019 - 03:48 PM

Do you mind posting which Tek you used?
  • peacefrog likes this

#4 peacefrog

peacefrog

Peaceful Frog

• 2,266 posts

Awards Bar:

Posted 10 February 2019 - 04:26 PM

Yea spore syringes can a [email protected]&$$ sometimes when inoculating agar. You really only want to use a drop or two. But we have all been there and done that lol. You go to push on the plunger, attempting to just barely push out a drop, and bam you inadvertently pushed too hard and it shoots out more than that.