Paradox
©
Fisana

Photo
- - - - -

Hello, I am a new member Interested in cultivation advice.

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 TabbyBoy

TabbyBoy

Mycotopiate

• Free Member
  • 250 posts

Posted 21 February 2019 - 04:08 PM

Hello, I am Tabby, I've just started my first spawn bag. 

I will make my setup clear to give a good idea of the advice i am requesting, And most likely need. This IS my first time growing.

I've inoculated a 5 LB mycobag that consists of 2 LB of rye grain and 3 LB of substrate. 

I keep it in clean cardboard box inside a wicker chest. Inside the chest is a small heater that keeps the chest at 79 degrees. 

For my first week or so i touched and played with it way too much. This led to a delay, But mycelium is growing, And the grain is almost 20% colonized. 

I plan to bulk case it when fruiting, despite claims that first timers usually fruit in the bag. I have an 18 by 13 tub and a tray that fits smooth, And a spectrum growing light. 

Please correct me on any statements i made in regard to my process that seemed like not the right thing to do. As i said i am a first timer and am in need of advice. These are my questions:

When the bag is fully colonized, How should i go about placing the spawn into the FC? 

Is it a good idea to put a layer of vermiculite under the spawn and the casing mix on top? (I have read that PE does not fruit well without casing)

Should i keep the temp higher than 79 while colonizing?

Thank you to anyone who bears the long read to help answer my questions. Criticism is welcome, as i am still learning.

• wharfrat and SkeleDan like this

#2 wharfrat

wharfrat

someone familiar

• App Administrator
  • 6,275 posts

Donator

Awards Bar:

Posted 21 February 2019 - 08:00 PM

Hello, I am Tabby, I've just started my first spawn bag. 

I will make my setup clear to give a good idea of the advice i am requesting, And most likely need. This IS my first time growing.