• Please log in to reply
48 replies to this topic

#1 NotFadeAway

NotFadeAway

Mycophiliac

• Free Member
  • 51 posts

Posted 25 February 2019 - 11:01 PM

This is my first time shooting spores on to agar and I am curious as to what my objective is. This may be a dumb? Am I trying to Isolate a strain like I would do with a clone or LC on agar? I have done some tissue samples on agar and successfully isolated an ape strain after many attempts. Is that the idea here? Or am I rather growing the spores out just to make sure there is no contam? I would think the latter because I was always told to clone from your biggest fruit. With that theory I would think you wouldn't want to isolate until you have a good strong gene pool. Just trying to get an understanding of the next level of this hobby. I've kind of been stuck in all of this. 9bf82432711990b1434305c2897ce0b7.jpg
  • peacefrog, OldNef and RutgerHauer like this

#2 deemesis

deemesis

Mycophiliac

• Free Member
  • 95 posts

Awards Bar:

Posted 25 February 2019 - 11:28 PM

I've only ever scraped a print over agar, other than cloning with fruit body. But yea, MS on agar was always just to make sure things were clean and if not, make more transfers.

• peacefrog and NotFadeAway like this

#3 raymycoto

raymycoto

Mycotopiate

• Gold VIP
  • 525 posts

Awards Bar:

Posted 26 February 2019 - 12:13 AM