• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Dimitri2teachme

Dimitri2teachme

Mycophiliac

• Free Member
  • 4 posts

Posted 09 March 2019 - 08:14 PM

Hello, fellow mycologists been lurking a long time, but never had a bulk setup. Going to use 66 quart tubs. I have been trying to decide on a substrate that wont smell up the house. I've decided to go with coir and maybe do a rez effect tub but wanted to get more than one or two flushes. Would wheat straw and coir be an ok mix on its own or would I be missing something? Is there anything I can add to the substrate to help resist contam?

#2 RutgerHauer

RutgerHauer

Mycophage

• Free Member
  • 152 posts

Posted 10 March 2019 - 04:30 PM

Hi, first of all welcome! I am not experienced in doing bulk grows but have read a lot about it.

You could look into cold water pasteurization for the straw, I believe they use hydrated lime for that - from what I have read using straw can be a big contamination risk in itself so it would be good to clean things up I guess.

You could also use coir+vermiculite - since they both have less contaminants present than straw for example - or just plain coco coir, seems to be working just fine for some people..
  • Advocate4TheMT and WolfWhiz like this

#3 PJammer24

PJammer24

Archetype Novice

• OG VIP
  • 1,101 posts

Awards Bar:

Posted 11 March 2019 - 09:09 AM

Hello, fellow mycologists been lurking a long time, but never had a bulk setup. Going to use 66 quart tubs. I have been trying to decide on a substrate that wont smell up the house. I've decided to go with coir and maybe do a rez effect tub but wanted to get more than one or two flushes. Would wheat straw and coir be an ok mix on its own or would I be missing something? Is there anything I can add to the substrate to help resist contam?

Pasteurizing substrate doesn't really smell bad IMO... I use hpoo substrates pretty exclusively and I have never taken umbrage to the smell... It smells earthy, that's about it...