56 replies to this topic

#1 Harlow

Harlow

Mycophiliac

• VIP
  • 73 posts

Posted 04 April 2019 - 02:27 PM

Hello all my myco friends,

I am starting this post to document my progress through my first Lion's Mane grow.  I am pretty new to this whole mushroom growing thing in general.  I was just loaned Paul Stamet's book 'Growing Gourmet and Medicinal Mushrooms', but have not cracked it open yet.  So this is all going off bits and pieces I have read about.  I have a general idea of how things should go, and will fill in any gaps as they come along.  I am looking forward to this grow going well and having a well documented process to follow and to share.

I have to wait until everything comes in, so this post is a bit premature, but I had a couple preparation questions I was hoping to get answers to.  And of course, if anyone does look at this and give me suggestions or tips, I would be very grateful.  After writing this up it seems like there is only a couple steps, but I also feel almost overwhelmed right now.  As of now, my steps and a list of my supplies are below.  I will have a SAB ready to used by the time I start this.  All spawn and substrate will be PC'ed.

1. Inject some of my purchased culture into a couple homemade LC jars, this way I can keep a live culture going.  Inoculate the rest of the purchased liquid culture into organic rye grain quart jars.

2. As the grains begin to colonize, I will give them a shake or two to make sure they look clean.  Also, I hear you should shake Lion's Mane to make sure the grain jars fully colonize.

3. Once the jars are fully colonized, I will mix them with my supplemented hardwood mixture.  I will place the mixture into some non-seal food bags I got at Walmart, and tie or tape the bags closed.

4. Cut some slits into the bags once they look ready to fruit.

Supplies:

-Lion's Mane Culture:  https://mushroomgrow...culture-syringe

-Grain: Great River Organic Milling, Whole Grain, Rye Grain, Organic, 25-Pounds