• Please log in to reply
53 replies to this topic

#1 Taproot

Taproot

Mycophiliac

• Free Member
  • 34 posts

Posted 18 May 2019 - 08:25 PM

Hi! I'm new to sectoring and have been reading a lot about genetics isolation and how agressive rhizomorphic mycelium is desirable. I have some pictures of some spores that I originally inoculated rye grains with, then transferred to agar, then transferred to new plates and am wondering which parts I should further isolate. If it matters, these samples are on M.E.A. They were transfered from the original plate 2019/05/14. These pictures were taken today 2019/05/18. Any tips are much appreciated! Thanks everyone.

Attached Thumbnails

• 20190515_000825.jpg
  • 20190518_194325.jpg
  • 20190518_194329.jpg
  • 20190518_194337.jpg
  • 20190518_194332.jpg
  • 20190518_194340.jpg

• Microbe likes this

#2 wharfrat

wharfrat

someone familiar

• App Administrator
  • 6,392 posts

Donator

Awards Bar:

Posted 18 May 2019 - 09:26 PM

welcome to topia..  just grab a small sample from he strongest looking sector, one of the arms that reach out from it should be a good place to start. I usually take a few samples and isolate further. take best sector of each and grow them all out. keep the best of the flush.. do more than one because all might not grow.

• CatsAndBats likes this

#3 roc

roc

Forum International Moderator

• 7,928 posts

Awards Bar:

Posted 18 May 2019 - 09:41 PM

Welcome to 'topia!

#4 Taproot

Taproot

Mycophiliac

• Free Member
  • 34 posts

Posted 19 May 2019 - 12:05 AM

Thanks for the advice. The thing is I don't know what sections of each culture I should be selecting. Can anyone maybe draw an arrow to the spots in my pictures that I should be selecting? I am really new to this and don't know where the "strongest sections" are. Or how to properly identify them. Other than looking for "ropey" looking concentrations of hypea. Or is that all there is too it?
  • crazy1 and wharfrat like this

#5 Taproot

Taproot