• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 paridox

paridox

VIP Member

• OG VIP
  • 127 posts

Posted 12 June 2019 - 04:59 PM

Hey yall its been about 6 years since I last posted, moved from texas to denver colorado. They just decriminalized it here so im able to start putting in some work: Golden Teachers, B+, Squid heads, Lizard king, and Amazon 

Used White popcorn and will be steralyzing some horse poop vs pasturizing. I will be using gardening lime to increase the ph in the horse substate, ive had solid grows with no contams using gardening lime.

So far i have 24 jars in total so im hoping to bring close to a pound out of this run before the flush out. Should be interesting

Since im new to Denver and this will be my first grow up here im messing around with pressure cooking times. I rehydrated all of the white popcorn for 2 hours until they were cracked open. lol yes cracked open I know some growers aren't a fan of that but from my grows there are a lot of noc up points on the popcorn cracked imo. I like to bite my corn as well to test its hydration. Popcorn must be firm to touch and teeth but not soft to where it mush's and when I bite down I like to make sure my teeth are easily able to go through it.

After rehydrating the corn I like to wash off a lot of the starch but not all. the corn should be washed out so much that the corn will barely stick to your  fingers. you want some starch just not loaded down with it. yes the mycelium loves starch and carbs (sugars) but the end result will end up with all the corn having a film on it and become gelatinous in texture and youll end up with almost no growth and room for contams. 

After the corn was dried in front of 2 fans on some towels for some 5+ hours. I then loaded the corn into as many wide mouth mason jars as I could 24 in total. pressure cooked all jars at 15 psi for 2 hours.

Waited till jars cooled down and prepped up for the inoculation.