Paradox
©
Fisana

Photo
* * * * * 2 votes

Internet and phone privacy/safety, you're probably doing it wrong.

• Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 CatsAndBats

CatsAndBats

this motherfucker

• OG VIP
  • 11,605 posts

Awards Bar:

Posted 22 June 2019 - 01:03 PM

Greetings fellow psychonauts!

Awhile back we were talking the perils of data mining by big tech and Mikey suggested that I start a general privacy thread. I am by no means an expert, but I am hyper-vigilant and I am a strong privacy advocate.

I'll cover a wide range of subjects but all under the privacy/safety umbrella such as:

• Beating facial recognition
  • Avoiding GPS tracking
  • Online privacy
  • Safe text messaging
  • I'll dabble in activist safety/tools too.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So let's begin!

Encrypted text messaging

Firstly, let's tackle text messaging. In the past I had a snooping girlfriend and she requested text records from our cell phone service provider, which they did, every single one of them, three months worth.

As one can imagine, this could be extremely problematic for people of our ilk.

This is one of the easiest things to fix, with encrypted messaging. I use Signal, like all encrypted messaging it requires both parties to have the same app installed. I prefer Signal, it's free, easy to use, it's my default text and it allows me to text non-Signal users.

Here's a press release from Whisper Systems essentially beating a federal subpoena:

Grand jury subpoena for Signal user data, Eastern District of Virginia 04 Oct 2016

In the “first half of 2016” (the most specific we’re permitted to be), we received a subpoena from the Eastern District of Virginia. The subpoena required us to provide information about two Signal users for a federal grand jury investigation.