7 replies to this topic

#1 serjrosen

serjrosen

Mycophiliac

• Free Member
  • 6 posts

Posted 10 July 2019 - 11:59 PM

Hello everyone ,

I am fairly new to the world of mycology. I am very excited to be part of this huge community and looking forwarding to learning a great deal from the pros here at Topia ! stumbled across a shroom today that is sometimes used in cooking recipes and I was curious to know which tek I could use to try to grow it. I'm attaching pics and I believe it to be a Psathyrella specie and I don't see much about them as far a cultivation is concerned. I haven't made my first attempt yet :unsure: but I have everything ready to start a culture using Sabouraud Dextrose Agar. So my question to the experts : Can a beginner pull it off with that specific shroom ?

Thanks 

Attached Thumbnails

• 20190710_163243.jpg
  • 20190710_215806.jpg
  • 20190710_215950.jpg
  • 20190710_215810.jpg
  • 20190710_220014.jpg

• Coopdog likes this

#2 Myc

Myc

El Jardinero

• App Administrator
  • 6,639 posts

Awards Bar:

Posted 11 July 2019 - 11:47 AM

Being new really has nothing to do with one's ability to "follow the recipe". It's a function of self-discipline and finding the right instruction.

Welcome to Mycotopia. I'm sure you'll likely be able to cultivate that fungus so long as you're diligent.

A solid, proper identification would be your first step.

This will lead you to identifying its preferred substrate.

• serjrosen likes this

#3 roc

roc

Forum International Moderator

• 7,887 posts

Awards Bar:

Posted 11 July 2019 - 03:00 PM

Welcome to 'Topia!

• serjrosen likes this

#4 Cuboid

Cuboid

Mycotopiate

• Free Member
  • 574 posts

Posted 11 July 2019 - 04:38 PM

I'd agree it looks like Psathyrella sp. but not sure which exactly. As far as I've read Psathyrella genus has plenty of inedible members and even poisonous ones. I really wouldn't go eating that without a 100% ID to species and checking edibility of species. Welcome to 'topia.