5 replies to this topic

#1 Eddiep73

Eddiep73

Mycophiliac

• Free Member
  • 3 posts

Posted 07 August 2019 - 02:56 PM

I am new at this
I was being pretentious and I tried to rush my pasteurization by heating my substrate to 300 (for a half hour)

I thought I intuitively knew better than the instructions I was reading and instead of taking a minute to read more I just went ahead and heated it to 300

Afterwards I read that this can wake up bad molds

Is there anything I can do to fix it? Would it get rid of those molds if I put it into a very cold freezer for a week or so?

#2 Myc

Myc

El Jardinero

• App Administrator
  • 6,825 posts

Awards Bar:

Posted 07 August 2019 - 03:29 PM

Pasteurization is a game of win or lose.

It is designed to foster microbes which prefer temperatures between 140 and 160*F. Microbes which thrive in these temperatures proliferate as a result of (properly) completing the process.

Temperatures above the 160*F range tend to destroy the populations you intended to foster. It also causes bacterial endospores to form as the bacteria build bunkers to survive the onslaught of high temperatures.

The first micro-organisms to recover will likely be the bacteria - which will consume the favorable microbes we were intending to foster in the first place.

Long story short.........

Use that flame-broiled material outdoors on the compost pile.

Start fresh and follow the recipe.

Edited by Myc, 07 August 2019 - 03:30 PM.

#3 Eddiep73

Eddiep73

Mycophiliac

• Free Member
  • 3 posts

Posted 07 August 2019 - 03:37 PM

Wow that is even lower than what I have read elsewhere
I am doing it without a pressure cooker though, do you still think 160 would suffice?

#4 Myc

Myc

El Jardinero

• App Administrator
  • 6,825 posts

Awards Bar:

Posted 07 August 2019 - 03:55 PM

I hope I didn't come across as rude or off-putting.

Perhaps you may benefit from a read of Paul Stamets' "The Mushroom Cultivator". There are .pdf versions available online for free.