• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 Randys67

Randys67

Mycophiliac

• Free Member
  • 74 posts

Posted 08 September 2019 - 11:47 AM

I inoculated this jar from MidWest with about 4 cc of spores from a vendor supplied spore syringe.  The spore syringe did have visible black spore clumps (I used rest of the spore syringe to inoculate 6 cakes from MidWest 2 days before I inoculated the LC...several of them are starting to show growth)  that I shook the hell out of.

This is what I have 24 hours later.  Have stirred a few times.  Are these spores that I hope will turn invisible soon and into mycelium?  Or has my LC taken a dump in there?? :)

THANKS for any observations.  I am a newbie.

Attached Thumbnails

• 00E7F76E-EB87-4353-A1BC-D04302CE64DA (2).jpeg
  • D2971FB9-5E6A-43DF-AC59-6206D445B29D (2).jpeg
  • E7E7F3D9-1296-418A-A3B6-765AD5985AC6 (1).jpeg
  • A98A056A-9B73-439F-B317-2642AB5CBB15 (1).jpeg

#2 coorsmikey

coorsmikey

Hippiecritical

• App Administrator
  • 6,417 posts

Donator

Awards Bar:

Posted 08 September 2019 - 11:55 AM

Hard to say without knowing the recipe for the LC. When I make LC at home using malt extract or potatoes, even after I filter it will coagulate muck like that. Particulate matter doesn't mean disaster. In my case, the mycelium eventually eats the muck and in between the puffs of myc the liquid becomes crystal clear. Any cloudiness that remains in the water after myc is visibly growing is not a good sign. 

• Myc and Randys67 like this

#3 Misfit

Misfit

Mycotopiate

• VIP
  • 676 posts

Posted 08 September 2019 - 12:16 PM

If you think you will be making LC in the future I’d invest in a magnetic stirrer if you can afford to. They are pretty reasonably priced.

“I’d rather have nothing than have a lie”
  • cappisdelecti and Randys67 like this

#4 Randys67

Randys67

Mycophiliac

• Free Member
  • 74 posts

Posted 08 September 2019 - 12:49 PM