10 replies to this topic

#1 Jinroh

Jinroh

Mycotopiate

• Free Member
  • 549 posts

Posted 24 September 2019 - 01:22 PM

Hey all, hope you had a good weekend?

So after researching the threads and a few videos I started some jars of liquid culture 10 days ago.

I inoculated a quart of ALC, APE and GT. The ALC water has turned slightly cloudy but shows no growth visible with the naked eye. The GT exploded and colonized the jar quickly. The APE on the other hand has had growth but it has been extremely slow at a snails pace compared to the GT. Since this is my first attempt at liquid cultures I am unsure if this is normal growth for different strains... some being faster than others?

I guess what I am really trying to figure out about this APE is when do I consider the jar colonized? It has been 10 days since inoculation so do I just let it keep going no matter how long it takes or is there a time limit when I should consider the jar as good as it is going to get? Keep in mind I used spores to inoculate, not other cultures which I assume would be preferable but this is all I had. The ALC syringe was super dark with spores but as far as mycelium growth I see no floating fibers. I will test it in agar but my hopes are low with that jar.

What you see in the image is the APE... 10 days growth. Definitely growing but not sure if that amount after 10 days is normal or not. I have read that APE can be slow. I do break up the jars once every evening on a stir plate. What you see is definitely more than I started with so any results after this point I am still happy! I am just not sure when to start using it. With the amount we see here, I am not sure how much percentage of mycelium I could draw into a syringe even if I flip the jar upside down.

Input? Suggestions?

APE 10 Days.jpg

#2 onediadem

onediadem

Insidious Drivel

• OG VIP
  • 15,841 posts

Awards Bar:

Posted 24 September 2019 - 03:24 PM

Shake the jar to break up the myc and draw your syringe.