• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 NatureIsMagic

NatureIsMagic

Mycophiliac

• Free Member
  • 66 posts

Posted 07 October 2019 - 04:30 PM

This specimen was found in southeastern Europe, in a mixed pine and oak forest. I'm very new at this, it looks like it could be some sort of Russula, but the wavy gills near the cap edge look like none of the species whose pics I could find on the internet. The gills look like they might be a distinguishing feature.

Attached Thumbnails

• 20191007_181301.jpg
  • 20191007_181258.jpg
  • 20191007_181303.jpg

• Furthur1 likes this

#2 PJammer24

PJammer24

Archetype Novice

• OG VIP
  • 2,073 posts

Awards Bar:

Posted 08 October 2019 - 12:31 PM

spore print? I don't know a whole lot about Russula in general but the spores should be white to dark yellow....

#3 NatureIsMagic

NatureIsMagic

Mycophiliac

• Free Member
  • 66 posts

Posted 09 October 2019 - 08:29 AM

No print unfortunately, I couldn't take it with me. If I run into it again, I'll make one, check for bruising etc. I should really do those things every time, now that I think about it.

#4 Coopdog

Coopdog

Mycotopiate

• OG VIP
  • 2,842 posts

Donator

Awards Bar:

Posted 09 October 2019 - 10:58 AM

Looks sort of like a Shrimp Russula, possibly a wine cap. if it tastes peppery it's no go, if it smells tastes shrimpey with no pepper sensation you are good to go, but always start light when ingesting any new ones. 

• NatureIsMagic likes this

#5 NatureIsMagic

NatureIsMagic

Mycophiliac

• Free Member
  • 66 posts

Posted 20 October 2019 - 02:59 PM