• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 RainbowCatepillar

RainbowCatepillar

Mycotopiate

• VIP
  • 247 posts

Posted 18 October 2019 - 07:35 PM

I'm at a point in my life where I'm mustering up the courage to change my entire life's path. 
I am in my last semester for my bachelors in Urban Learning. I have NO desire to be a teacher. I'm

only still on this path because of pressures from family, well-meaning friends, and the hope to begin making

a solid living soon. My actual desire is to become a psychotherapist because this career aligns with everything
I wish to contribute to the world. It also aligns with my actual interests, for I'm always reading psych related books.

My question:
Is it foolish to take a leap to working to get into the psychology field? Or would it be better to maybe start off teaching and ease my way into the field by joining a psych masters program later?

If I decide to teach, I will have to take another semester following this one to complete a student teaching program. Then I'll have to take a couple semesters of psychology classes to be eligible for the psych masters program.

If I were to switch to a psych major, it would take me a year to get a bachelors in Psych and immediately make me eligible for a masters program. 

Would I be a fool to follow my interests despite how it may prolong my difficult financial situation for another year? I mean, I can take up a side job, but teaching promises more stability than taking up a regular old job. Some have been saying I should get my teaching credential and then try for psychology.

I'm just confused because I want to follow my heart, but economic factors are making it difficult to do so... 

I know this isn't related to anything this site is about, but I really value the wisdom and opinions you all have here..

• Skywatcher and DustStorm like this

#2 Moonless

Moonless

Mycotopiate

• Black VIP
  • 961 posts

Awards Bar:

Posted 18 October 2019 - 07:57 PM