Paradox
©
Fisana

Photo
- - - - -

Requesting a consensus. New data to dunk or not to dunk?

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Jinroh

Jinroh

Mycotopiate

• Free Member
  • 328 posts

Posted 02 November 2019 - 12:03 PM

Hello all,

By now I am sure you all know this hobby is changing all the time. I have perused the archives for a good while and read much on this subject. It surprises me how far back in time these discussions go.
My goal is to see how many of you dunk your mono tub cakes and how many of you dunk before the first flush and how many of you only dunk after the first flush. Also, what experiences have you had with any species/strains that have been found to not do well if dunked?

I am asking because as some of you know, I am new to the hobby and my latest tub (which is APE) is within a week or so of fruiting conditions. I am casing this tub since all my research on this strain indicates that this strain likes to be cased. I have never worked with this guy before so it is all new to me. I am aware of the slow fruiting times and am leaning towards dunking because of the long fruiting duration to maintain hydration.

How many of you (if you were me) would dunk and then case, or case and then dunk in between the following flushes? How many of you would not dunk at all? Is it worth the hassle to dunk a cake that is cased before every flush since the cake would need to be re-cased after each dunk? Does casing even matter after the first flush?

Keep in mind, my intentions are to learn and maybe other noobs learn with me when I ask these questions. I am aware of what is in the archives on the subject, but I want new data with today's more refined methods. That being said, I don't want to start arguments over if you do or not dunk with the other users here. I am just looking for respectful input!

Thanks!

#2 onediadem

onediadem

Insidious Drivel

• OG VIP
  • 15,477 posts

Awards Bar:

Posted 02 November 2019 - 03:01 PM