48 replies to this topic

#1 Jinroh

Jinroh

Captain Obvious

• OG VIP
  • 943 posts

Posted 21 November 2019 - 03:02 AM

Hello, fellow Newbs!!

When I first started this hobby six months ago, one of my major questions was how do I know that I am looking at Mycelium or something bad like mold or other invasive fungi? Since then I see this question almost daily (mainly in the new member introduction thread).

I thought I would post some images of contaminated spawn jars and an example of a healthy growing jar and a fully colonized jar.

I am not claiming anything in this post, I am not an expert on mold and fungi identification. I am just posting this because I feel it might be of some use to people like myself just getting our feet wet (so to speak).

What I AM an expert at (as the photos will show) is causing and growing contamination. I recommend NOT getting good at that skill as I have.

However, it is sure to happen. The photos of contamination are all from the same inoculation day and exhibit at least three types of contamination... maybe more! I purposefully inoculated 25% more jars than I need because I expect contamination. Maybe when I get a flow hood and more experience I will not have to waste so much spawn, but until that day comes I feel making more spawn than needed is a good tactic for a beginner and I recommend it.

As I said, the below images are of the same inoculation day, from the same SAB and the same grain from the same pressure cooker (just several batches). All the jars were stored in my fridge for about two weeks before inoculation. Beginners will find that inoculation day involves a fair amount of prep so doing it all at once is advisable. IMHO

For each contaminated jar you see, there are at least two successfully colonized jars that have since been put into a sub.

IMG_0923.jpg IMG_0924.jpg IMG_0925.jpg IMG_0926.jpg IMG_0927.jpg IMG_0928.jpg