6 replies to this topic

#1 Jordbob

Jordbob

Mycophiliac

• Free Member
  • 3 posts

Posted 29 November 2019 - 06:43 AM

Heyo,

So I would like to help a friend with growing from some caps he's had for a long time. The caps are about 2 years old now and I'd like to be able to make a spore print from them, if that is even possible now.

If anyone has a link to a tech that works for this, i'd really appreciate the help. This site is not easy to navigate and I am not good with the vernacular lololol

Thank you!

• CatsAndBats likes this

#2 Myc

Myc

El Jardinero

• App Administrator
  • 6,894 posts

Awards Bar:

Posted 29 November 2019 - 09:44 AM

Welcome.

This article shows you how to use the materials you describe to make fresh tissue:

https://mycotopia.ne...m-dried-tissue/

• crazy1 and Tenderfoot like this

#3 CatsAndBats

CatsAndBats

this motherfucker

• OG VIP
  • 11,799 posts

Awards Bar:

Posted 29 November 2019 - 11:15 AM

Heyo,

So I would like to help a friend with growing from some caps he's had for a long time. The caps are about 2 years old now and I'd like to be able to make a spore print from them, if that is even possible now.

If anyone has a link to a tech that works for this, i'd really appreciate the help. This site is not easy to navigate and I am not good with the vernacular lololol

Thank you!

Once you make a few more posts it's easier to navigate.

Welcome.

This article shows you how to use the materials you describe to make fresh tissue:

https://mycotopia.ne...m-dried-tissue/

Myc, don't you think how the mushrooms were dried play a factor? My dehydrator dries fruits at ~150f, which most likely kills the spores and I'm 89% sure that it kills the mycelium.

#4 Myc

Myc

El Jardinero

• App Administrator
  • 6,894 posts

Awards Bar:

Posted 29 November 2019 - 12:01 PM

Good question C&B. I wouldn't argue with your knowledge. You've run more experiments than I ever did so I defer to your experience.