#1 CentralLimit

CentralLimit

Mycophiliac

• Free Member
  • 6 posts

Posted 02 December 2019 - 04:46 PM

Hi,

This is a first post.  Wish me luck.  

I am new to mycology, and I am getting into it to supply myself enough to microdose.  I've been reading of its benefits for a couple of years, and I'm reasonably sure it'll help me along out of a bad bout of depression.  After ten years, I am mostly out, but I could use some brightness and perspective, if that makes sense.  First, though, I need some shrooms. 

Anyway, I have a problem with yield, and I could use some advice if you've got some. 

• 14 Sep 19, I inoculated 18 BRF jars I bought from what seems to be a decent vendor.  No issues with my work or the vendor's, and all is well.   I used spores from a reputable vendor, I think.  Golden Teacher and B+, nine jars each.  No contam or mold to be seen. 
  • The jars seemed to take a long time to colonize, although I may have had my incubator a little cool, around 78F.   They were on a heating blanket, and I checked temps twice a day, and pulled the data recorder about every three weeks.  Process looks good, albeit slow. 
  • 9 Nov 19 I finally birthed and dunked.  Four of the cakes near the side of the chamber caught some light and shrooms started to grow in the jars.  When I pulled the jars, the shrooms had some black debris, so I threw cakes and shrooms away.  Otherwise, the other cakes looked pretty colonized, but they were not solid white.  I just felt I needed to get them into the fruiting chamber before I lost them.