• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Rukhomuk

Rukhomuk

Mycophiliac

• Free Member
  • 12 posts

Posted 22 April 2020 - 10:29 PM

Hey! I have started to grow some, might as well post here and see together where this is going to go :)

Its is my second time starting silene capensis, first round ending up with damping off seedlings last year. Which means I am not very experienced with this plant (or plants in general to be fair), so consult with the others before following what I do here.

The picture is almost a month in since sowing the seeds in this starter, with a plastic cover giving it a greenhouse effect. Currently living in Northern Europe in zone 3A. I have a casual 40w growlight.

Going to transfer these very soon in a fabric pot for the roots to have more air access. 

I was first thinking of going with cactus soil but I thin I will try this one with mycorrhiza

I am guessing the soil has good drainage properties while retaining water (although I can't really understand the language)

let's go !

Attached Thumbnails

• photo_2020-04-23_06-06-48.jpg

Edited by Rukhomuk, 22 April 2020 - 10:32 PM.

#2 Rukhomuk

Rukhomuk

Mycophiliac

• Free Member
  • 12 posts

Posted 22 April 2020 - 10:39 PM

Side topic: What do you think about the guy claiming his Silene to be 6 weeks old here? https://mycotopia.ne...welcome/page-10

09135be57cde27138de9a9555c8975e8.jpg

my mind is blown at how much I don't know about growing if what this guy says is legit.

Edited by Rukhomuk, 22 April 2020 - 11:35 PM.

#3 ElrikEriksson

ElrikEriksson

Mycotopiate

• Free Member
  • 486 posts

Posted 22 April 2020 - 11:56 PM

I used to grow this species.

Don't be tricked by abundant surface growth in the first year, they should be several years old for descent root yield.

I grew most of mine in the ground, although I did grow one large in regular potting soil. I would avoid cactus soil or anything with sand if you intend to consume it by the froth method.