44 replies to this topic

#1 UnHeisenbug

UnHeisenbug

Mycophage

• VIP
  • 101 posts

Posted 24 April 2020 - 01:49 PM

Hey everyone,

I am interested in information for growing outside. Could an individual in June and still have fruit or is this a longer project.

In a totally unrelated question, why is it so difficult to find Psilocybe Cyanescens for my microscopy collection? I can find them, but shipping is quite expensive.

Cheers,

el hongo

• Moonless likes this

#2 Myc

Myc

El Jardinero

• App Administrator
  • 7,349 posts

Awards Bar:

Posted 24 April 2020 - 01:53 PM

Depending upon your location, you should be fine starting an outdoor project in June. It only takes about 30-45 days from spawn to fruiting.

Go for it.

• UnHeisenbug likes this

#3 UnHeisenbug

UnHeisenbug

Mycophage

• VIP
  • 101 posts

Posted 25 April 2020 - 07:43 AM

Yeah, the grow would be in Northern Europe.

I'm a bit apprehensive since I'm a novice with spores and I wouldn't want to loose them all to contamination by going from spore syringe to grain. I'm interested in trying spore to LC, since it will not require many additional supplies (like agar and plates). Then of LC to grain which I've done to some success as a younger person. I hope that will give me a tolerance to error as long as I get the LC right.

Are LC difficult? Do I need my SAB technique down for them or is it more like making grain spawn?

#4 Myc

Myc

El Jardinero

• App Administrator
  • 7,349 posts

Awards Bar:

Posted 25 April 2020 - 10:52 AM

I don't normally go from spore-print to Liquid Culture. If the print has any contamination, you'll not be able to make transfers from an LC as you would with agar.

What you propose is not impossible. I recommend reading up on a few LC teks in the vaults. I almost guarantee that all of your questions will have been answered in at least one of those articles.

• Moonless and UnHeisenbug like this

#5 UnHeisenbug

UnHeisenbug

Mycophage

• VIP
  • 101 posts