• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Pakil

Pakil

Mycophiliac

• Free Member
  • 53 posts

Posted 02 May 2020 - 04:17 PM

Hi all, I’ve been using this as-is for a couple months, and the oysters I grew were great. The shiitake and reishi seem to be doing ok. My fresh air is limited to what the ultrasonic humidifier grabs before puffing it through the hose, plus a few times a day I open the flap and turn a box fan on it. The humidifier runs 30 minutes on, 30 minutes off, on low. I know this isn’t ideal when I’m not here all day, so I ordered a pair of fans for intake and exhaust.

My supplies came in and I wouldn’t mind a few opinions. I’m thinking I’ll mount my fans in position 1 and position 4, and run them simultaneously for a short time each hour, and kick on the humidity after the air is replaced, however often it’s needed to maintain 80-90%. 

The fans are a bit heavier (and bigger) than I expected. Any ideas on how to mount them? Maybe a frame of rigid plastic or very thin plywood with a circle cut out for the fan? There are 4 mounting holes in each fan, one on each corner. Since I can’t bolt the fans directly to the plastic because of the weight and thickness/thin-ness of the greenhouse walls, my only idea right now is to mount them to something I can affix to the outside of the greenhouse with tape or silicone. There are also the frame pieces inside the greenhouse that I could wire to or hang something from to help support any weight.

The seller also included 2 in-line speed controls. To avoid a bunch of wall plugs, I can daisy chain the power cords and speed control into one long run. 

I’d really appreciate any constructive brainstorms  :)

p~

CE6183B6-28E6-4405-A4E7-9F99B05E2029.jpeg

9EE0517E-5E99-49A3-B747-6C24D2C10115.jpeg

#2 Pakil

Pakil

Mycophiliac

• Free Member
  • 53 posts

Posted 05 May 2020 - 12:53 AM

While replacing my dryer vent, I realized that what I want to make for each fan is a “flange”. :) 

#3 Rac3k

Rac3k