• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Severian

Severian

Mycotopiate

• VIP
  • 246 posts

Posted 09 June 2020 - 08:06 AM

Seems like the temps are beginning to climb into the realm that makes sense to move my focus to outdoor growing, and, I'm blessed with being in a space right now where I have (for the summer at least) an abundance of forest space to make outdoor beds in.

I'm fairly new to the whole growing game, and entirely new to the outdoor realm- so this is all pretty experimental.

The first bed I dug was around the 23/24th of May-

I inoculated a 5 micron mycobag using Buckaroo Banzai's nugget tek- The bag developed trich, more than I was able to eliminate using chemical warfare (distilled white vinegar)-

So it volunteered itself as the best candidate for the first outdoor bed

I found a spot that I thought might be good- a few feet below where a pond is on the property in the woods- which seemed good and moist. (I have questions now whether or not it's TOO moist... more on that in a minute)

I pulled back the topsoil layer, and dug a hole about 2 feet by 2 feet x 6 inches, and then I scooped off the trich, and broke up the grain spawn on top of the bag and layered it up with the substrate, which was 40/40/20 Coir/Castings/Vermiculite

Then I replaced the removed top"soil" - more of a knotted mess of roots and pine needles

A few days later I decided to remove it, as that layer was real thick and I was worried that it was too dense a casing layer for the mycellium to poke through- I sprinkled some of the jet black forest soil on top instead

Days later I noticed some slugs decided to move in.