Paradox
©
Fisana

Photo
- - - - -

Do B+ and/or GT prefer Black Cow Manure Casing Mix to? Some of my favorite times...

• Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 Redrock35

Redrock35

Mycophiliac

• Free Member
  • 35 posts

Posted 14 July 2020 - 08:34 PM

were creeping from cow patty to cow patty, thump thump pick... all the while avoiding a ansy farmer with a shotgun... so the story goes. We were enthusiasts catching waves in Flagler Bch and drinkin fresh brewed shroom tea.

Fast forward and now I'm a amateur fungi hobbyist here, and back 30 ought years ago, along with the guys I hunted for fresh dung to partake of nature's perfect answer to the universe and more. I usually couldn't wait to get them back to the house to wash em off, so I would carry a quart of water to "freshen them up" and start my trip out in the field. Back to the question though, I'm about to colonize my second bulk batch of Golden Teacher and what will be my first batch of B+ and I'm having trouble figuring out which of the two strains would most benefit from black cow manure casing mix that I already have on hand and need to use. So many notes but nothing on dung substrate by strain. Any help at all would make my day.

#2 HrVanker

HrVanker

Mycophiliac

• Free Member
  • 344 posts

Awards Bar:

Posted 14 July 2020 - 10:44 PM

When I first started researching the hobby, I recall some spore places mentioning that the original specimen was found on dung, grass, compost, etc. Slyly indicating the type of medium in which they grow best.

Now, the prevailing idea seems to be: "a cube[ensis] is a cub[ensis]." They are all very similar, grow about the same in similar environments, and have similar ranges of potency.

Casing layers typically don't contain manure in my experience. They are usually coir/verm mixes to retain moisture and provide a barrier between the outside world and the nutrient rich substrate. They also aren't required, but they do serve a purpose.