• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Wonky1

Wonky1

Mycophiliac

• VIP
  • 11 posts

Posted 31 August 2020 - 10:40 AM

I'm not in love with the term "noob" since it rhymes with "boob." But I'm new at this, so I am what I am. Anyways, I'm sure to find our more as I go, but my initial impression from all the surfing and reading all over the web was that a shotgun fruiting chamber was a necessity. Lots of holes! But I'm reviewing the "Magic for the Masses" guide and it seems that the PF Tek fruiting chamber shown there has no holes at all. So I'm seeing fruiting chambers with: 

• holes everywhere, 
  • recommendations for just a very few holes, 
  • few holes and covered or plugged with polyfill or micropore tape, or 
  • no holes at all.  

I guess a scientist would conduct trials in various conditions to see what works best, but is there anything close to consensus on how best to configure the fruiting chamber for PF cakes? Or is this like the "what's the best motor oil" thread on the car forums that always cause endless debate? Much appreciate the opinions, experience, and guidance from the gang!

• FunG and xlcor like this

#2 snottybrood

snottybrood

Mycophiliac

• Free Member
  • 9 posts

Posted 01 September 2020 - 12:07 AM

I would also like some clarification. Neglect Tek is a trash bag lined cardboard box, with black plastic sheeting on top, lol. I have seen intense fruiting chambers on pinterest, which I love, but is there a "best"?

• Wonky1 likes this

#3 peacefrog

peacefrog

Peaceful Frog

• 2,358 posts

Awards Bar:

Posted 06 September 2020 - 08:08 PM

Wonky,

I moved your post to this forum as you will probably get more advice here.