6 replies to this topic

#1 deadhead47

deadhead47

Mycophiliac

• Free Member
  • 5 posts

Posted 01 September 2020 - 05:19 AM

Hello & Good Day to Everyone who comes across this (:

I am new to cultivating any fungus, only have had a few successes a few years ago and again a couple years ago, but did PF tek last time and for some reason just went straight to Bulk Casing with grain spawn this time.

So I set up an incubtion chamber using two 12gallon totes, bottom one filled half way with water, & an aquarium heater on the bottom.

Temp is set to 26C (76-80F inside the chamber).

Then proceeded to inoculate 2 - 3lb grain spawn bags with a MS syringe ( 5CC's each bag).

Waited 20+ days and no signs of growth, so I decided it was probly a bad culture and inoculated the same bags with a different strain and waited a little longer and still no culture.

Well, so now I have become enlightened that going spore to grain isnt a great way to be successful in germinating spores and have since obtained a liquid culture jar and inoculated the jar with yet another strain and FINALLY have success with mycelium cloud having formed.

BUT I also inoculated one of these original spawn bags that did not have success in forming cultures but have become quite soggy.

Here is the question (if youve read this far, thank you! im getting to the point :) 

Are these soggy bags of grain spawn just too wet now for a successful culture to colonize and be used at all?

Im thinking they are now shot out and I should move on and free up space in my incubation chamber.

Experiment:

- Inoculated the grain spawn bag with some of the mycelium culture and havent seen any signs of growth yet

#2 FunG

FunG

"Trump 2021"

• Free Member
  • 1,195 posts

Posted 01 September 2020 - 05:38 AM

Bunk spores suck...

I had problems initially with poor germination of golden teachers with the syringe I had received from a well known vendor, out of 12 jars only 7 germinated.