10 replies to this topic

#1 Shaz

Shaz

Mycophiliac

• Free Member
  • 9 posts

Posted 10 September 2020 - 04:19 AM

Hey there, hope you are well...
Due to this Corona sh!tstorm I've had to move into my grandmother's holiday home and now I think there's a contamination beast floating around in this flat - All my grain spawn jars of brown rice show signs of contamination (15 in total - 5 strains : 3 jars each), all currently "active" fruiting chambers (8 in total) are showing signs of contamination too... Grains start to colonize and then end up turning almost black, fruiting chambers have some signs of light green and grey spots forming.
If I had the cashflow to replace everything then I'd toss it ALL out - jars and fruiting chambers included. All grains and bulk substrates have already been removed - but now what do I do?
Please help me out here, I'm still rather new to growing psilocybin cubensis and I Urgently need advice to get rid of this contamination beast.
Look forward to your replies on this.
  • Boebs likes this

#2 Boebs

Boebs

Psychonaut

• VIP
  • 1,091 posts

Awards Bar:

Posted 10 September 2020 - 06:41 AM

Start by deep cleaning the air system
It probably hasnt been done in a while.

As for the contamination of the spawn.. well you have limited choices. You can try cutting away the areas, however if you see the colors of mold/bacteria it has spored so its pretty much everywhere.
  • Shaz likes this

#3 Boebs

Boebs

Psychonaut

• VIP
  • 1,091 posts

Awards Bar:

Posted 10 September 2020 - 06:41 AM

Or move it outside and hope for some harvest
  • Mycol and Shaz like this

#4 TVCasualty

TVCasualty

Embrace Your Damage

• 13,736 posts

Awards Bar:

Posted 10 September 2020 - 09:29 AM

To really track down the source of the problem requires more info. How old is the place? Any visible mold issues? Moldy/musty odors? Indoor plants? Pets?