#1 Sicshroom

Sicshroom

Mycotopiate

• OG VIP
  • 563 posts

Donator

Awards Bar:

Posted 15 October 2020 - 08:28 PM

Hello all, ive come across a large amount of sassafras and am trying to figure out the best method to root. Any one with experience in the matter i would love some advice. Thank you in advance.

Attached Thumbnails

• 20201015_212158.jpg
  • 20201015_212120.jpg

• Skywatcher, bezevo, makinbones69 and 1 other like this

#2 Skywatcher

Skywatcher

Walk's between...

• 7,690 posts

Donator

Awards Bar:

Posted 15 October 2020 - 09:33 PM

I have no experience with sassafras myself, but I remember my grandmother taking root cuttings to start in spring.

If its a hardwood, stem cuttings could be difficult, but I would still try. You seem to have a good amount, so I would prep 3 or so for rooting in water, I would also try a rooting hormone on some in a moist growing medium.

Prep consists of a clean fresh bottom cut, removal of most of the lower leaves, and only trying about a 6-8 inch cutting. I swear my grandmother could grow a stick if she took a mind to do it......

• Cooper Trouper, Sicshroom and YoshiTrainer like this

#3 Sicshroom

Sicshroom

Mycotopiate

• OG VIP
  • 563 posts

Donator

Awards Bar:

Posted 15 October 2020 - 10:06 PM

Thank you sky, I do have plenty to work with and I'm permitted to go back and harvest what I want. I took 2 rooted suckers as I couldn't find fruit or seeds. I thought for some reason I had seen someone take hard pieces and plant them in the dirt to root but it could be they had 1in diameter pieces of root they planted though which now makes more sense
  • Skywatcher, bezevo and YoshiTrainer like this

#4 Boebs

Boebs

Psychonaut

• VIP
  • 1,137 posts

Awards Bar:

Posted 16 October 2020 - 12:08 PM

Look up air layering.
It is how most hard wood and fruit trees are cloned.

You scrap off about an inch ring of the bark on a branch about an 1inch or so wide.

Take sphagnum moss and wet it to field capacity,