• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 MrSloth

MrSloth

Mycophiliac

• Myco Newb
  • 1 posts

Posted 12 November 2020 - 07:59 PM

Hello everybody.  Figured I'd use this opportunity to introduce myself and thank everyone for allowing me to join. 

I've been growing mushrooms for a few years now, I started with cubes and have since moved to culinary/medicinal species (nice variety in the process and appeals to my fiance lol).  Currently I am growing shiitake and lions mane even though tomorrow I think I'm gonna expand some summer white oyster spawn to start making a few blocks of that.  I've had some issues building a straw tek that gives me consistent results, but I'm gonna order some wheat straw (I was using barley, I heard it should work but I had horrible results, even though admittedly I have issues fully draining the straw so an oversaturated substrate could have easily also been the cause of my issues).  

Just finished wiring up my grow tent, basically just a metal shelving rack I have wrapped in 6m plastic with 2 humidifiers, lights, 2 fans and a humidifier sensor to control all the fancy gizmos.  Finally got it to bounce between 85-87.2% rH, I've had issues keeping the parameters stable but with my new humidifier I just bought I've got it down to a +/- roughly 2% rH, which seems to be as narrow as I can close the gap.  Can post some pictures if people would like, it's pretty much how you'd imagine it though haha, its homemade so the wiring isn't beautiful but hey it works like a charm!