• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Choices

Choices

Kindred Soul

• Black VIP
  • 728 posts

Posted 28 November 2020 - 03:49 PM

So my collection has grown to close to 50, my question is. What makes a cactus flower? Meaning is it environmental? Pot size? Age? Nutes?

I’m still learning so excuse the silly question. But from what I understand flowering is not guaranteed yearly, as a perennial would. Thanks in advance!!
  • Chips101 likes this

#2 coorsmikey

coorsmikey

Passenger

• App Administrator
  • 8,023 posts

Donator

Awards Bar:

Posted 28 November 2020 - 07:54 PM

I wish I knew and also hope that someone like Skye or Boebs chime in with something clever. I don't think its a silly question but its definitely a good one to discuss. I have some that flower continuously, some in the same conditions that never flower, and some that flower when I mail them. IDK but sure would like to hear some solid advice on the subject.

• Choices likes this

#3 Coopdog

Coopdog

Mycotopiate

• OG VIP
  • 3,079 posts

Donator

Awards Bar:

Posted 28 November 2020 - 08:30 PM

Been growing cacti for 7-8 years, maybe ten. Had one GINORMOUS flower one single time. The magical smell of it permeated the entire back yard area. It was magnificent. I have pictures in my gallery somewhere. Never happened again since. Not sure what prompted it. Usually they tend to flower more if they live outside in natural conditions year round I think. 

• Choices likes this

#4 Skywatcher

Skywatcher

Walk's between...

• 7,696 posts

Donator

Awards Bar:

Posted 28 November 2020 - 11:09 PM

This is actually a really good question Choices. I wish I had a simple set of standard prerequisites ....