#1 Coopdog

Coopdog

Mycotopiate

• OG VIP
  • 3,075 posts

Donator

Awards Bar:

Posted 13 March 2021 - 08:44 PM

I'm a pretty good cook, but always open to learning a new process. The wild Oysters here are pretty leathery and the stem is damn near inedible they are so tough. I am asking for any method of preparation that will soften them up some. Normally I sautee in butter or put them in something else, but I have a feeling these pink ones are gonna be on the leathery side as they feel like they are made of rubber now. Hoping as the tops expand they will get softer, and I have yet to eat any of these. They might be more tender than I am thinking, but looking for suggestions to tenderize them. Might have to do a boil first and then sautee them, but looking for inspiration if anyone is familiar with these things. 

#2 Juthro

Juthro

dope smoking hillbilly

• OG VIP
  • 9,212 posts

Donator

Awards Bar:

Posted 14 March 2021 - 12:30 AM

I dont have an answer for you Coop, but I can give you a bump :)

• Coopdog likes this

#3 Coopdog

Coopdog

Mycotopiate

• OG VIP
  • 3,075 posts

Donator

Awards Bar:

Posted 14 March 2021 - 02:42 AM

I'm still leaning towards sauteeing them in butter, but cutting the more fibrous stems into 1/4 inch slices. Good fiber? :) Of course there will be red/orange Bell peppers and shallots and some cubed up Ribeye with it, maybe more stuff. THANKS Juthro...

Edited by Coopdog, 14 March 2021 - 02:46 AM.

• Juthro likes this

#4 Juthro

Juthro

dope smoking hillbilly

• OG VIP
  • 9,212 posts

Donator

Awards Bar:

Posted 14 March 2021 - 02:52 AM

Sounds good to me!   I would happily volunteer as a taste tester if the need arises  :)

• coorsmikey and Coopdog like this

#5 jrh

jrh

Mycotopiate

• VIP
  • 546 posts

Awards Bar:

Posted 14 March 2021 - 08:59 AM

So I read a couple of things... 

1. Pull the individual petals apart

2. As it cooks, the pink should turn yellow

If it's leathery tough, maybe next time harvest earlier?