16 replies to this topic

#1 Oldpunk

Oldpunk

Mycophage

• Free Member
  • 172 posts

Posted 02 April 2021 - 10:22 AM

Hey everybody.
I decided to step up my game and get a pressure cooker. I'm moving into my 1st clone attempts and have some agar on the way....so I figured it's time.
I've never used one before. And I have a couple questions that hopefully you all can give me some advice.

1. My PC instructions said always use 3 qt of water. No matter how many jars. My first test run I only used 1 qt (just enough to cover the bottom spacer plate) I was using 1/4 pint shorty jars for liquid culture mix and 3 qt would have fully submerged them. Does the water amount matter really?

2. My test run seemed to hover at 13psi . I know the magic number always says 15. It was cooking at pretty low heat, but seemed to be boiling like crazy. Do I just turn the burner up until I hit 15? Or is the pressure regulator flopper doohicky supposed to be heavier?

3. When you guys wrap jar lids and scalpels and other tools in foil and PC to sterilize. How do you? You know like how long, how much water in it, where do you set the tools and such so they not in the water?
I was thinking of making a little rack by bending up some hardware cloth. Any qualms about using galvanized metal?

I know these are probably common knowledge questions once a person has some experience. So please excuse my totally uneducated newbie-ness.

Oh. One more. Shit I forgot.
Shouldn't have had that early morning doobie-ness.

Oh wait. There it is.
4. Have any of you tried out single burner hot plates with your PC? Mines a 16qt job so the hot plate would have to be 10-12" probably. Just in case I ever build that secret mushroom lab.

I always wanted an underground secret grow room. Turns out it's a lot more work than a guy has time for. But if I ever do I'm gonna call it my Bong Shelter.
  • Mycol likes this

#2 jrh

jrh

Mycotopiate

• VIP
  • 546 posts

Awards Bar:

Posted 02 April 2021 - 10:54 AM