• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 MushyTushy

MushyTushy

Mycophiliac

• Free Member
  • 9 posts

Posted 22 April 2021 - 02:00 AM

I pasteurized a straw and manure based substrate for about 3 to 4 hours at around 160°F. It's been sitting in jars for about a week. I've left them because I read that letting them sit longer allows the microbial content to multiply which helps reduce chances of contamination.

I looked at them today and they seem to have this whitish appearance now. They smell fine but I'm worried about whether or not I should use them. I plan on making more regardless but I'm wondering do they look contaminated. I'd say they may be a tad on the drier side for my use but still feel moist.

This is my first time working with straw so all feedback is welcome. There are also no additives like gypsum or lime which I've read wasn't necessary for this purpose.

Attached Thumbnails

• 20210422_003607.jpg

• Sidestreet and MaharishiTohotoho like this

#2 Sidestreet

Sidestreet

Digging for Rainbows

• App Administrator
  • 8,869 posts

Donator

Awards Bar:

Posted 22 April 2021 - 03:57 AM

Would it be possible to get a clearer picture?  With manure and straw, you want to see some powdery white because that indicates the presence of actinomycetes, a helpful type of bacteria.  If you follow that link, scroll down to "The Decomposer Actinomycetes".

Or it could just be a contaminant mold.  I've never heard of actinomycetes forming after pasteurization, but then again people usually spawn their substrate soon than you have.  Usually it's been more about selecting manure with the powdery white on it before pasteurization.

You could try spawning--it sounds like you pasteurized correctly...

#3 Jrotten

Jrotten

Amateurish

• Gold VIP
  • 1,459 posts

Awards Bar:

Posted 22 April 2021 - 08:46 AM