• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 VibrationalAlchemy

VibrationalAlchemy

Mycophiliac

• Free Member
  • 19 posts

Posted 05 June 2021 - 07:38 PM

Use Jars for agar, AND see you cultures clearly.

Maybe this already exists and I just haven’t seen it, it would not surprise me in the least.  

If it doesn’t exist, then here is my contribution.  If it does, then here is my take on it.

I am somewhat new to Mycology, so please make me aware of any errors in my novice thinking.  I am not claiming to know anything, just sharing what I believe to be a cool innovation.  

These are clear top (plexiglass) jars that can be used for agar.  Many people seem to think jars are a better route than petri dishes.  The downside of jars, as I have seen it discussed and what drove me to solve this issue for myself, is that one cannot easily monitor, or have a good look at the culture and be certain of whats goin on in there without opening the lid, which can introduce contamination to your sterile culture.

Much Gratitude to CatsAndBats for democratizing Agar.  I was feeling Orange vibes on this particular day.

IMG_7332.JPG

Since I was going to make some Agar jars for the first time, I thought there must be a way to remedy this lid situation.  First, I called the local glass shop. Their circle cutting tools can’t go that small.  So I just got a sheet of 1/8" plexiglass from them and decided I’d try to make my own.  I put a cutting bit on my dremel, traced some jar lids and went for it. I think the plexiglass was about 15 bucks for a 24" x 18" piece.  Luckily they leave the paper on the glass which makes writing on it easy.  The first couple circles were rough until I got a feel for cutting it.