• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 rockyfungus

rockyfungus

Mycotopiate

• Free Member
  • 1,598 posts

Posted 10 July 2021 - 03:08 PM

I've been disciplined to a self-taught yoga ritual for about 5 years now. I miss lifting and putting down heavy objects.  I love skating (old to find it), and want to stay agile and not feel the need to get huge! Might as well toss someone else, and learn to roll better for skating. I'm a passive dude and when I see red I lose all sense of control. I have little self-care I suppose and never defend myself, I try to de-escalate situations, but I've blown the fuse defending friends or gone into petty rages. (never smashed my brothers head in though...)

What discipline makes sense? Trying to remember the bit I know about the practices. Jiu-jitsu seems right, aikido (meh, thanks segall),קרב מגע, krav (i'm jew---ish, come on menorahs and driedels and latkes and matzah ball soup, and brisket....secular jews/non-zionist are best jews), judo or sambo?

I wrestled very very briefly (gave up as many sports as I tried within 6mo...). I'm a tiny dude 5'6, very broad shoulders, I got that low gravity and always fought by getting low and sweeping or taking out knees (few minor scuffles or friendly brawls, don't want to fight, but I want to defend).

Judo-Roll-85466.gif

#2 August West

August West

Mycotopiate

• OG VIP
  • 4,163 posts

Awards Bar:

Posted 10 July 2021 - 04:51 PM

I started Brazilian jiu jitsu (as opposed to Japanese) relatively late. All of my "physical conditioning" had been coming from a manual labor-based job for years. All of my mental energy was going (still does) to a family member with complex medical problems. I needed a better outlet.

Some questions to ask yourself:

-Do you want to get punched or kicked in the head and face as a matter of daily training? That will narrow or expand your search in a hurry.