7 replies to this topic

#1 Zwapa

Zwapa

Mycophiliac

• Free Member
  • 271 posts

Posted 12 July 2021 - 07:26 AM

Hi Folks,

Bought my self a grow kit Golden Teachers. Already had 3 flushes, with the last one smaller fruiting bodies. So i dunked the cake in a water honey mix and now fruits have more brown caps instead of cinnemon caps. But fruiting again abundantely.

This on a side note and to let u know where the grow kit is going now or how it is doing ...

However my main question is as follows: is it possible to clone some of the mycelium? I have no experience whatsoever with agar or with grain to grain things. I know this exists, but that's it. Can it be accomplished with simple basic stuff you can buy in the grocery store? Or do i have to get myself some lab stuff?

Is it also possible with mycelium that has been fruiting already, or is the mycelium always thrown away after fruiting? Not like woodlovers where u just give them  new material to chew on.

I made some spore prints from the fruits of the first and second flush, but don't know if this was done sterile. And i didn't see a lot of spores on the foil neither...

Thanx .

• MushLuvR likes this

#2 FLASHINGROOSTER

FLASHINGROOSTER

Semi-Pro Taco Robot

• Black VIP
  • 2,887 posts

Awards Bar:

Posted 12 July 2021 - 03:22 PM

You can clone with sterile sections cut out from inside the mushroom stem for instance, and clone to agar. But the preferred method as far as I can tell is making spore prints. Some guys will make a spawn jar and then use chunks of that to start in some other sterile jars. Grain to grain transfer or something like that but that is usually done with fresh spawn not old spawn that has fruited.

Edited by FLASHINGROOSTER, 12 July 2021 - 03:24 PM.

• Sidestreet and Zwapa like this

#3 Zwapa

Zwapa

Mycophiliac

• Free Member
  • 271 posts

Posted 15 July 2021 - 08:30 AM

Will try the PF-tek with spores i guess. Thanx

#4 MushLuvR

MushLuvR

Mycotopiate

• Gold VIP
  • 293 posts