• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 jenny212

jenny212

Mycophiliac

• Free Member
  • 17 posts

Posted 05 October 2021 - 03:12 PM

Hi everyone, newbie here.  I've been reading many different forum posts and am confused about using a hygrometer in my shotgun fruiting chamber?

It seems that most people say that hygrometers are useless in the fruiting chamber, but then I found a post that highly recommends this hygrometer - 

Extech - 445703 Digit Thermometer

https://www.amazon.c...1&tag=mimein-20

Will this hygrometer work in the fruiting chamber or should I forget about buying one? I'm concerned about getting the right humidity for my cakes to grow.  

Thanks in advance for the help!

• MushLuvR likes this

#2 Juthro

Juthro

dope smoking hillbilly

• OG VIP
  • 9,641 posts

Donator

Awards Bar:

Posted 05 October 2021 - 04:20 PM

IMHO, a hydrometer like that is fairly useless for growing mushrooms.  I bought one back when I first started growing, and got rid of it before I was finished with my first grow.  They don't work very accurately at the extreme end of the scale where you want to keep your fruiting chamber at.  Also, you will learn very quickly that you can read the RH% pretty easily by watching for condensation on the walls, and lid of your FC.  You want to see that condensation.

As a side note, a lot of growers have had trouble keeping the RH% as high as they would like it in a shotgun FC.  If this becomes a problem for you, you can adjust it by closing up some, or most of the vent holes in the FC.   RH% is a bit of a touchy, feely thing, as everyone lives in a different environment.  You will find what works best for you, and where you're at soon enough, I have faith.

good grow vibes :)

:meditate:

• Myc, Arathu, ElPirana and 2 others like this

#3 Arathu

Arathu

Dirtmaker

• OG VIP
  • 6,950 posts

Awards Bar:

Posted 05 October 2021 - 05:44 PM