• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 SquareGrowing

SquareGrowing

Mycophiliac

• Free Member
  • 5 posts

Posted 29 November 2021 - 04:12 PM

I'm just getting started in the hobby but have been interested in mycology for years.  I have read countless posts, watched videos and read articles about mycology and thanks to all of the community contributions, I finally gotten off the bench!

- Nov 6 - Inoculation Day:  Having done some research, I was aware that this is the first milestone to pass without contamination.  I was overly cautious with lysol, alcohol, flame sterilization, still air box and paranoia (I mean caution).  I inoculated some Uncle Ben's with a GT spore syringe and taped accordingly.  What happened over the next several days was an exercise in patience.  I proceeded to look, poke, feel and fret over my babies, as any newb would do.  At the first signs of life, I was optimistic.  I left everything alone until my bag was 50% colonized and tried the ole break and shake.  Shortly thereafter, I thought all was lost...until I learned that mycelium bruise too.  Who knew? 

- Nov 26 - Spawn to Bulk Day:  This step was a lot less intimidating than I expected.  After cleaning and sanitizing everything, I laid a base of CVG at field capacity into the bottom of a 6qt tote, covered with colonized grain and covered again with CVG before closing the lid.  I also added a seedling mat to keep everything nice and comfortable.  I also took the time to transfer some "leftover" grains to new bags of rice.  Now I have my next set colonizing as well. 

So, that's where I am at now.  Waiting and reading. 

Question:  Is it possible/advisable to clone directly to grain or does the cloned mycelium need to be on agar first?

• wharfrat, Salty117 and rockyfungus like this

#2 rockyfungus

rockyfungus

Mycotopiate

• Free Member
  • 2,077 posts

Awards Bar:

Posted 29 November 2021 - 04:29 PM